BJP’s lone nomination for RS bypolls filed from MP

Nomination of lone candidate by BJP for bye-election was accepted after it was found valid in scrutiny.

The nomination of Dr. Murugan, a Bharatiya Janata Party candidate for the by-election to fill the vacancy of 01 Rajya Sabha seat from Madhya Pradesh, was found valid. Till the last day of nomination for the bye-election, only one nomination paper was filed.

Scrutiny of nomination papers received from 2 pm today was done by Awadhesh Pratap Singh, Returning Officer for Rajya Sabha Bye-Election, 2021. During scrutiny, the Assistant Returning Officer, Rajya Sabha by-election, B.D. Singh, Additional Chief Electoral Officer Rajesh Kumar Kaul, Deputy Chief Electoral Officer Pramod Shukla were present.

According to the notification of the by-election to the Rajya Sabha, 2021, the withdrawal of nomination from the candidate will be done on September 27, 2021 till 3 PM.