CM congratulates Padma awardees from Madhya Pradesh

Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan has congratulated and extended best wishes to the Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri awardees from Madhya Pradesh.

Former Union Minister Sushma Swaraj was posthumously awarded the Padma Vibhushan for the year 2020 by the President Ramnath Kovind. Abdul Jabbar Khan of Bhopal (posthumously), Purushottam Dadhich of Indore, Nemnath Jain of Indore and Dr Leela Joshi of Ratlam were honored with Padma Shri.

For the year 2021, President Ramnath Kovind honored former MP Sumitra Mahajan with Padma Bhushan, Bhopal’s Kapil Tiwari for making significant contribution to the promotion of folk arts of Madhya Pradesh and tribal painter Behen Bhuri Bai with Padma Shri. The awards for the year 2020 were presented on Mondayby President Ramnath Kovind.

Former Union Minister Sushma Swaraj was a Member of Parliament from Vidisha Parliamentary Constituency. She was awarded the Padma Vibhushan 2020 for her special contribution to public life. Sushma Swaraj was also the Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha. As Union External Affairs Minister, the credit of connecting the Ministry of External Affairs with the masses goes to Smt. Sushma Swaraj.

Abdul Jabbar Khan of Bhopal was posthumously awarded Padma 2020 for social work. Khan was the convener of Bhopal Gas Peedit Mahila Udyog Sangathan. He fought for almost 30 years for the treatment and rehabilitation of gas victims, their families.