Karnataka Assembly elections 2023 | BJP announces first list of 189 with 52 new faces

The ruling BJP on Tuesday announced its first list of candidates for 189 constituencies of the total 224 in the Karnataka Legislative Assembly that are going to polls on May 10. The highlight of the list is that it has 52 new faces on the lines of the Gujarat experiment, though the number of replaced incumbent MLAs does not match the Gujarat figures.

As many as 11 incumbent MLAs have been replaced, including veteran leader B.S. Yediyurappa, who had already left his constituency to his son B.Y. Vijayendra, and Halady Srinivas Shetty, who had announced retirement from electoral politics.