Rioters of Khargone will not be spared, stringent action will be taken against them: Chief Minister

Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Home Minister Narottam Mishra condemned the communal clashes that broke out in Khargone district during a Ram Navami procession. CM Shivraj Singh said that the rioters have been identified and strict action would be taken against them.

While talking to the media on Monday, the CM said, “An unfortunate incident has occurred in Khargone but the rioters will not be spared. Stringent action will be taken as there is no place for rioters on MP’s soil and they are meant to be in jail. The rioters have been identified. Those who have pelted stones will be punished but along with it they will be made to pay for the losses to both public and private properties.”

Chouhan further pointed out that a Prevention of Damage to Public and Private Property and Recovery of Damages Bill has been passed by the government and a claims tribunal is being formed. “All rioters will be punished and all damages after assessment will be recovered from them,” he added.

Meanwhile, Home Minister Narottam Mishra said that the situation is under control at Khargone. All rioters are being identified and 77 have been arrested so far.

Home Minister Mishra further informed that the Superintendent of Police was shot in the leg and six more cops were also injured during the violence.

Mishra, sending out a warning to the rioters, said: “Jis ghar se pathar aae hai. Us ghar ko hi patharon kaa dher banaenge (the house where the stones have come from will be turned into a pile of stones itself).” He also said that similar clashes were reported in the adjoining Sendhwa block of neighbouring Barwani district, but the situation is under control.

The Collector said the Talab Chowk clash led to clashes in Qazipura and other parts of the city and several vehicles were torched. Close to 60 km away from Khargone city, similar clashes and stone pelting took place in communally sensitive Sedhwa block of adjoining Barwani district.