Shivraj Singh Chouhan comfortably wins trust vote in Madhya Pradesh state assembly

Bhopal: The BJP’s Shivraj Singh Chouhan is set to begin his fourth term as chief minister of Madhya Pradesh after he comfortably won a trust vote in the state assembly on Tuesday.
Shivraj Singh Chouhan needed support from 104 MLAs. He was backed by 107 of his own lawmakers, but also by the Samajwadi Party, the Bahujan Samaj Party and independents.
In total, he enjoys the support of 112 MLAs.
No Congress MLAs were present in the assembly for voting.
Shivraj Singh Chouhan’s confirmation as Madhya Pradesh chief minister caps a dramatic saga that exploded onto television screens nationwide with the recent departure of former Congress MP Jyotiraditya Scindia to the BJP.
As many as 22 Congress MLAs soon stepped down from their assembly posts, weakening the state government’s numerical position in the House — the rebels, too, would eventually join the BJP.
Former Chief Minister Kamal Nath resigned before a Supreme Court-mandated floor test could be held.
Shivraj Singh Chouhan was later sworn in as chief minister.