Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Constituency-Wise Election Schedule, Voting Dates – Full List Here

NEW DELHI: Election Dates 2019: Voting for Lok Sabha elections 2019 have begun in India. The seven-phase Lok Sabha Election 2019 dates are April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. The results will be declared on May 23. Elections in India are nothing less than a “festival of democracy.” This national election will see nearly 2,000 parties and over 8,000 candidates contesting for 543 seats. The members of the largest party or coalition will choose the Prime Minister. Around 90 crore people are eligible voters who will vote and choose the 17th Lok Sabha. Among these, around 15 crore will be the first-time voters. For Lok Sabha Election Schedule 2019, click here and to check your name in the voters’ list, click here. The manifestos of the national parties BJP and the Congress are out. The BJP’s “Sankalp Patra” promises emphasis on national security, zero tolerance against terrorism and creation of sustainable job opportunities. The manifesto reiterates the party’s causes – a Ram temple in Ayodhya and the scrapping of Article 370, 35A dealing with special status to Jammu and Kashmir. Tax breaks for the middle class, welfare schemes for farmers, Rs. 100 lakh crore investment in infrastructure are some its other poll promises.

The Congress, in its manifesto headlined the Nyuntam Aay Yojana (NYAY) scheme, which promises Rs. 72,000 a year for 20 per cent of India’s poorest. The opposition party promises farm loan waiver in other states on the pattern of Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, and Rajasthan. It also promises to review and replace the current Goods and Services Tax (GST) laws with a “GST 2.0 regime” based on a single, moderate, standard rate of tax on all goods and services.