Want to free country from infiltrators: PM Modi on Citizenship Bill in Assam

A mid protests over Citizenship Bill in Northeast, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Saturday addressed a rally in Assam and said the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government at the Centre wants to free the country from infiltrators.

“We want to free the country from the infiltrators. It reflects in our stringent actions against them,” Modi said addressing a rally in Guwahati’s Amingaon.

PM Narendra Modi said he will ensure that Clause 6 of the Assam Accord is successfully implemented. [The Clause 6 of the Assam Accord reads: constitutional, legislative and administrative safeguards, shall be provided to protect, preserve and promote the cultural, social, linguistic identity and heritage of the Assamese people.]

“I’m here to ensure that your 36-year-old demand of implementing the Assam Accord sees the light of the day,” PM Modi said.

“We endeavour to implement Clause 6 of the Assam Accord at the earliest. Our government has formed has a committee for the same.”

“The NRC which was not being implemented earlier, now our govt is working under the supervision of SC to implement it,” he said.

PM Modi, who reached Guwahati in Assam on Friday (February 8) to address rallies in Assam, Arunachal Pradesh and Tripura, was shown black flags as he travelled to Raj Bhavan from the Lokpriya Gopinath Bordoloi International Airport. He is in the northeast to address rallies in Arunachal Pradesh, Assam and Tripura.

The members of the All Assam Students Union (AASU) and activists of Krishak Mukti Sangram Samiti (KMSS) showed black flags to PM Modi as he travelled in convoy from the airport to protest against the Citizenship Bill.

Slogans like ‘Modi go back’, ‘Scrap Citizenship Amendment Bill’, ‘Joi Aai Asom’ (Glory to Mother Assam) were heard from the protestors.

The Citizenship Bill was passed by the Lok Sabha on January 8 and awaits the approval from the Rajya Sabha. It is being opposed by the majority of the Northeastern states. The bill seeks to provide Indian citizenship to non-Muslims from Bangladesh, Pakistan and Afghanistan.