Yogi, Akhilesh sworn in as MLAs in UP

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath on Monday took oath as the member of legislative Assembly in Lucknow.Yogi Adityanath is a first time MLA as he previously had been a member of the legislative council in the state during his first five-year tenure as Chief Minister.

Yogi is also a five-term MP from Gorakhpur Lok Sabha constituency.

Samajwadi Party chief and leader of opposition Akhilesh Yadav also took oath as an MLA.

He is also a first time MLA. He was an MLC during his stint as the chief minister of the state during 2012-17.Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Akhilesh Yadav wished each other. Yogi patted Akhilesh Yadav on his back.

 Akhilesh Yadav also shook hands with Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya.

Later, talking to the media, Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath welcomed all the newly elected MLAs.  “UP assembly, the biggest state assembly of India, is ready to welcome all the newly-elected MLAs.

I hope that all the MLAs will make a firm resolve to contribute in the development of the state as per the Constitution,” Yogi said.

The chief minister said, “I am confident that all the MLAs would abide by the dignity and the traditions of the assembly and ensure peaceful conduct of the proceedings of the House.”Barring a few, almost all the newly-elected members of the 18th Uttar Pradesh Vidhan Sabha were administered oath of office by Pro Tem Speaker Ramapati Shastri and four other panel members.

Along with Pro Tem Speaker Ramapati Shastri, Governor Anandiben Patel had nominated Suresh Kumar Khanna, Jai Pratap Singh and Mata Prasad Pandey to administer the oath to the MLAs.

Shastri took oath as pro tem speaker on Saturday.

Yogi Adityanath was sworn in as the chief minister of the state by Governor Anandiben Patel in a jam-packed Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium on Friday last week.

A total of 52 ministers had taken oath as ministers, including two deputy chief ministers.

Keshav Prasad Maurya and Brajesh Pathak had taken oath as the deputy chief ministers of the state.

The Bharatiya Janata Party has won 275 seats in the Uttar Pradesh assembly and its allies in the state have also registered impressive performances.