Congress election panel on Khairagarh to meet today

A meeting of the Congress election committee is to be held at the Chhattisgarh headquarters here on Tuesday to deliberate the upcoming bye-election from the Khairagarh assembly constituency.

AICC Chhattisgarh in charge P.L. Punia, Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel and PCC chief Mohan Markam will attend the meeting to be held at 7 p.m., a Congress communication said on Monday. 

Punia, Baghel, Markam and around half-a-dozen Ministers are among the election committee members.

The by-election was necessitated in Khairagarh after the death of its MLA Devvrat Singh. He was elected an MLA on the Janta Congress Chhattisgarh-Jogi (JCC-J) ticket but switched over to the Congress after the death of party founder Ajit Jogi.

The Election Commission has said the bye-election will be held on April 12.