Indian women thump New Zealand to clinch ODI series win

Indian women produced a clinical performance to crush New Zealand by nine wickets in the fifth and final ODI and won the series 3-2 on Wednesday.

After the win, the BCCI announced a cash award of Rs 21 lakh for the team as they fought back from being 2-1 down to win the series.

The final match turned out to be an anti-climax of sorts with New Zealand being shot out for 118 in 41 overs as seven of their batsmen failed to reach double digits.

Suzie Bates top-scored with 42 while left-arm spinner Rajeswari Gayekwad had the best figures of 2/15. Jhulan Goswami, with 2/17, was as economical as ever while Deepti Sharma took 2 for 22.

In reply, India surpassed the target in 27.2 overs with DT Thirush Kamini scoring 62 off 78 balls with 13 boundaries.

Deepti showed her all-round prowess by scoring an unbeaten 44 off 78 balls with 8 boundaries.

BCCI president Jagmohan Dalmiya said: “Congratulations to our skipper Mithali Raj on leading the team with distinction and registering a series win against New Zealand. The team has shown remarkable character to come back from 1-2 to and win the series. BCCI would like to announce a reward of Rs 21 lakh for the team.”

Secretary Anurag Thakur stated, “On behalf of BCCI, I would like to congratulate the team on the series win. It was a dominant performance today (Wednesday) and they deserve all the accolades.”

“This five-match ODI series proved to be competitive and was a wonderful showcase for the skill and class of women’s cricket. It augurs well for the future. I would also wish to congratulate Mithali for reaching yet another milestone in her illustrious career – of crossing 5000 runs. Well done once again for a stellar performance,” he added.

Brief scores
New Zealand 118 in 41 overs (Suzie Bates 42; Rajeshwari Gayekwad 2/15, Jhulan Goswami 2/17).
India 121/1 in 27.2 overs (Thirushkamini 62 no, Deepti Sharma 44 no).
India won by 9 wickets and also won the series 3-2.

Leave a Reply