Vijay, Pujara steady Indian innings

India goes with three pacers and two spinners while Bangladesh opt for three spinners

Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to bat first against Bangladesh in the one-off Test at Hyderabad on Thursday.

Play resumes after lunch, after initial breakthrough, India dominated the first session.

At lunch, India from 2 for 1 moved to 86 for 1.

And it’s lunch on day 1. After the initial dismissal of KL Rahul (2), Murali Vijay and Cheteshwar Pujara put on a solid performance to revive India out of trouble. They both added unbeaten 84 runs for the second wicket. Murali Vijay on 45 and Cheteshwar Pujara 39 are batting with more confidence now.

Both the batsmen, after initial hiccups, are now batting with great confidence and making it hard for Bangladesh bowlers to strike a breakthrough.

At the end of 19 overs, India 69 for 1 (Murali Vijay 36, Cheteshwar Pujara 31)

Run-out missed by Bangladesh. A great escape for Murali Vijay. These two are rotating the strike very easily.

Bangladesh bowlers are giving ones and twos to these two batsmen easily. Shakib’s maiden over was the second maiden over till now.

After 17 overs, Bangladesh brings in its experienced spin bowler Shakib into the attack. He starts with a maiden.

After the early wicket of KL Rahul, Murali Vijay and Cheteshwar Pujara have started to rebuild the Indian innings. At the end of 12 overs, India from 2 for 1 moved to 40 for 1 with Murali Vijay 22, Cheteshwar Pujara 16 are still at the crease.

Both Murali Vijay and Pujara are playing cautiously and steadying the Indian innings after the initial wicket of KL Rahul.

At the end of 8 overs, India 24 for 1 (Murali Vijay 12, Cheteshwar Pujara 10)

First boundary for India and Pujara in the ninth over.

Both the Bangladesh opening bowlers, Taskin and Rabbi, are bowling brilliantly and Murali Vijay and Cheteshwar Pujara are watchful right now as the pitch is assisting the fast bowlers now.

Bangladesh bowlers makes it tough for the Indian batsmen Vijay and Pujara with some excellent bowling.

Taskin strikes for Bangladesh. KL Rahul is out for 2. India 2 for 1. Cheteshwar Pujara is the new man.

Murali Vijay and KL Rahul are out in the middle now. All set for a historic Test for Bangladesh.

The players are out in the middle for the national anthems.

“Very good surface to bat on”, said Kohli. Rahane replaces Karun Nair in the playing XI. As usual Virat Kohli opts 6-5 policy. “Great moment for Bangladesh cricket”, said Rahim.

Having started playing Test cricket in 2000, Bangladesh is playing its first Test in India.

Bangladesh, having won a Test against England, will not be a pushover as it has shown its skills in subcontinental pitches. On the other hand, Team India will try to score another victory. Having won eight out of nine Test matches, India will be keen to score another victory.

This Test will also be a practice match for India as they will be facing Australia in a four-Test series later in February.

The pitch seems to be a batting wicket and the spinners will play a crucial role later in the match i.e. from third day. A tinge of green but the captain wins the toss will opt to bat.

The teams


Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Ishand Sharma


Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mominul Haque, Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (captain and wicket-keeper), Sabbir Rahman, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Kamrul Islam Rabbi