ICC announces World Cup Team of the Tournament: 6 Indians in the list of 12 players, Rohit captain; 2 Australian players included

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the ‘Team of the Tournament’ for the World Cup 2023. The captain of this team is Rohit Sharma, who made his team win 10 consecutive matches in this tournament. Maximum 6 Indian players are included in this list.

Two players from world champion Australia have got place. Apart from this, 1-1 player from Sri Lanka, New Zealand and South Africa has been given place. Let us tell you that Australia has become champion for the sixth time by defeating India by 6 wickets in the final of World Cup 2023 on Sunday.

ICC World Cup 2023 ‘Team of the Tournament’
Quinton de Kock, Rohit Sharma (captain), Virat Kohli, Daryl Mitchell, KL Rahul, Glenn Maxwell, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Dilshan Madushanka, Adam Zampa and Gerald Coetzee.
1. Quinton de Kock (South Africa) (WK) The
South African opener was in great form during the group stage, scoring four centuries, including a brilliant 174 against Bangladesh at the Wankhede Stadium.

De Kock scored 594 runs in the entire tournament at a strike rate of 107.02. De Kock, who was chosen wicketkeeper in the tournament, has made the maximum 20 dismissals.

2. Rohit Sharma (India) (Captain)
Team India’s captain and opener Rohit Sharma scored 597 runs for the host team in this World Cup. Rohit is second in terms of runs in this tournament. Whereas Virat Kohli is on top.
3. Virat Kohli (India)
Virat Kohli played an inning of 54 runs in the final. With this he finished this World Cup with 765 runs. He became the highest run scorer in a tournament. At second place is India’s Sachin Tendulkar, who scored 673 runs in 2003.

Kohli could not cross the score of more than 50 only twice out of 11 innings of the tournament, in the remaining 9 innings he scored three centuries and 6 half-centuries.

4. Daryl Mitchell (New Zealand)
Daryl Mitchell played an important role in taking New Zealand to the semi-finals. He scored 552 runs in nine innings at an average of 69 and a strike rate of 111.06. He played a fighting inning of 134 runs in the semi-final against India.

5. KL Rahul (India)
Team India’s wicketkeeper-batsman Rahul scored 452 runs in 11 matches. This included an inning of 102 runs against Netherlands and an unbeaten 97 runs against Australia in the league stage. The 31-year-old batted at an average of 75.33 in the World Cup, which is the third best for any batsman during the tournament.
6. Glenn Maxwell (Australia)
Australia’s Glenn Maxwell scored a century in 40 balls against Netherlands. Which was the fastest century in tournament history. Whereas against Afghanistan, Maxwell scored unbeaten 201 runs facing 128 balls. He hit 21 fours and 10 sixes during this innings.
7. Ravindra Jadeja (India)
India’s star all-rounder Jadeja bowled economically and took 16 wickets and scored 120 runs with the bat. His economy rate was one of the best in the tournament, at 4.25 per over.
8. Jasprit Bumrah (India)
Bumrah performed brilliantly in the World Cup and was very economical. He stood second in best economy rate. Ahead of him is India’s R Ashwin. Bumrah took 20 wickets in 11 matches.
9. Dilshan Madushanka (Sri Lanka)
Sri Lankan left arm fast bowler Dilshan Madushanka took 21 wickets in 9 matches. He remained third in the list of highest wicket takers in the tournament. His best bowling figure of this World Cup was 5/80, which was against India.

10. Adam Zampa (Australia)
Australian spinner Adam Zampa was the highest wicket taker for Australia in the tournament. Zampa took 23 wickets in his account. Zampa has jointly reached the first place with Muttiah Muralitharan in terms of taking most wickets as a spinner in a World Cup. He remained second in the list of highest wicket takers in this World Cup. Before him is Indian fast bowler Mohammed Shami.
11. Mohammed Shami (India)
Indian fast bowler Mohammed Shami was the top wicket taker of this World Cup. He was out of the team’s playing 11 in the first four matches, but he took 24 wickets in the last seven matches.

Shami also completed his 50 wickets in the World Cup by taking the third wicket against New Zealand. For this he took only 17 innings, which is the fastest in the tournament history. He broke the record of Australia’s Mitchell Starc, who had taken 50 wickets in 19 innings. Shami remained on top in this World Cup with 24 wickets.
12. Gerald Cootzie (South Africa)
South African fast bowler Gerald Cootzie took 20 wickets in eight matches. The 23-year-old bowler finished the World Cup with an economy of 6.23.