Madhya Pradesh and Odisha bypolls 2018: Highlights

Voting is underway for by-elections to Mungaoli and Kolaras assembly constituencies in Madhya Pradesh and Bijepur seat in Odisha.
The bypolls in Madhya Pradesh were necessitated due to the death of Congress MLAs Mahendra Singh Kalukheda (Mungaoli) and Ram Singh Yadav (Kolaras).

The by-election in Bijepur was necessitated due to death of Congress MLA Subal Sahu. His wife Rita Sahu is now the candidate for the ruling BJD.
Here are the latest updates:
* Bijepur bypoll: 55% polling recorded till 3pm
* Madhya Pradesh: Kolaras records 44.84% voter turnout while 47.01% polling reported in Mungaoli till 1pm
Bijepur bypoll: EC sources confirm 38% voter turnout till 1pm

Voters show their voter ID cards at a polling booth in Odisha’s Bijepur
* Odisha: After casting her vote, BJD candidate Rita Sahu expressed confidence that she will emerge victorious from Bijepur seat
*MadhyaPradesh by-poll: 16% voter turnout recorded in Kolaras and 17% voterout recorded in Mungaoli till 10am

* Odisha: Voter-verified paper audit trail (VVPAT) machines are being used in all the EVMs in Bijepur
Odisha: Technical glitches have been reported in electronic voting machines at at least 3 booths in Bijepur
Bijepur bypoll: The main contenders are BJP’s Ashok Panigrahy, BJD’s Rita Sahu and Congress’ Pranay Sahu
Bijepur bypoll: Voting underway ikn 281 booths

Bijepur by-poll: Total 2.2 lakh voters to exercise their franchise
Bijepur by-poll- Total 13 candidates are in fray

* Madhya Pradesh: EVM stops working at a polling booth in Kolaras
* Odisha: Voting for Bijepur by-election begins amid tight security
* Madhya Pradesh: Voting for Mungaoli and Kolaras seats begins

* The Congress has fielded Mahendra Singh Yadav from Kolaras and Brijendra Singh Yadav from Mungaoli
* The BJP has fielded Baisahab Yadav from Mungaoli and Devendra Jain from Kolaras

* Outcome of the two by-elections in Madhya Pradesh would be watched keenly as a possible pointer to people’s mood ahead of the assembly elections in the BJP-ruled state, due later this year

* Both Mungaoli and Kolaras seats are in the Guna Lok Sabha constituency, represented by Congress leader Jyotiraditya Scindia