Madhya Pradesh bypolls: Congress ahead in both Assembly seats

NEW DELHI: As of mid-morning today, the Congress is leading in Kolares and Mungaoli, two key Madhya Pradesh Assembly constituencies that held bypolls on Saturday.
The Congress was leading by 2,474 votes in Kolaras and 3,834 votes in Mungaoli, in the seventh round of counting of votes. Both seats were earlier held by the Congress.

The outcome of the two bypolls would be watched keenly as a possible pointer to people’s mood ahead of the Assembly elections in the BJP-ruled state, due later this year.

The bypolls, held on February 24, were necessitated due to the death of Congress’s MLAs Mahendra Singh Kalukheda (Mungaoli) and Ram Singh Yadav (Kolaras).

A total of 13 candidates are in fray in Mungaoli while 22 candidates are contesting in Kolaras.