MP Monsoon session begins; tributes paid to departed leaders

Madhya Pradesh Assembly’s monsoon session began on Monday with the House paying rich tributes to sitting and former MPs and MLAs who passed away recently.

As the House assembled on the opening day, Speaker Sitasharan Sharma mentioned about the deaths of some sitting and former MPs and MLAs.

Leading the House in paying tributes to the departed leaders, Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan recalled the contribution made by sitting MLA Rajendra Shyamlal Dadu and MP Dalpat Singh Paraste.

Chouhan said Dadu was from a very highly educated family.

Referring to Paraste, the Chief Minister said he had maintained very good relations across the parties and was a popular leader who always won polls from whichever party he contested.

He also paid rich tributes to former Assembly speaker Yagyadatt Sharma, former MPs Laxminarayan Pandey, Rajesh Nandini Singh and Ranbahadur Singh, and others.

Besides Chouhan, acting Leader of Opposition Bala Bachchan, BSP Legislative Party Leader Satyaprakash Sakhwar and Women and Child Development Minister Archana Chitnis also paid rich tributes to the departed leaders.

The House also remembered former ministers Satyendra Pathak and Ibrahim Qureshi, former MLAs Narnaryan Singh and Kamta Prasad Kushwaha and retired principal secretary of Vidhan Sabha, Dr A K Payasi.

Later, Assembly observed two-minute silence following which the Speaker adjourned the House for a day as a mark of respect to the departed leaders.