Want to secure your private data from Facebook without deleting account? Here’s how you can do it

Facebook found itself stuck in dire straits after a recent case uncovering the data misuse by a UK-based data analysis firm Cambridge Analytica. The firm has been marred by the allegations that it stole the data of over 50 million Facebook users to manipulate the US Presidential Elections held in 2016 – helping Donald Trump become the President of the US. This has caused an uproar on social media, thereby rekindling the existing idea of a majority of users who favour curbing the use of Facebook and its applications. WhatsApp co-founder Brian Acton too joined in to call for deleting Facebook.

In such a situation, there are many people who feel deceived to have shared almost everything about their life on Facebook that might have gone into wrong hands. While many Facebook users find it safer to snub the social media platform and switch to some other website, there are a few who don’t want to delete or deactivate their Facebook profiles in favour of associated logins on multiple platforms including Instagram. Boycotting Facebook by either deleting the profile or deactivating would not only deprive you of the access that you use on other apps and games but also of the regular updates from your friends and family.

Well, what if we tell you that there’s a way around that won’t require you to deactivate or delete your Facebook profile while barring your private data from advertisers and third parties. Though this method would ensure the safety of your sensitive data with some steps to remove them, it won’t really stop Facebook from accessing it. In order to do this, you will have to stop Facebook apps from storing your data. Now, these apps can be games, photo doctoring apps, and other engaging websites that require the Facebook login. The steps will help you remove your precious data from Facebook servers so that they cannot be misused.

Remove third-party login access from Facebook
Usually, people tend to log into multiple apps and websites using their Facebook credentials that saves them from the hassle of entering an email address and password. The moment you sign into these websites or apps, you unknowingly grant them access to use your details such as your selfies or other photos that you normally flaunt on Facebook. However, if you want to ensure your data safety, you will have to give up falling for the ease provided by Facebook login on other platforms.

But, how will you disable the Facebook login on third-party apps and sites? In order to do this, you will have to visit the Facebook Settings page, followed by a click on Apps in the left tab. Now click on Apps, Website, and Plug-ins option, then the Edit button, and lastly the Disable Platform button. This will revoke the access to all the sites and apps that are currently using your Facebook login details.

Now, the same Settings page has one more option called App Settings. It essentially shows you all the websites and apps that are connected to your Facebook profile. To remove them, click on the cross ‘X’ sign on the top right corner of these app boxes individually. You can choose the ones that you want to remove or keep for future.